Cloudy with a chance of…

I spent many days working tirelessly on the background in anticipation of stitching the clouds over the Earth. I chose Arctic Rays as the thread for the clouds, because of the “wispy fringe.” It shines and shimmers, and feels really great when you run your hand over the wisps.

I initially tried working this area with a larger stitch, but the tent stitch definitely looked better. As you can see, I took out the yellow star that was between the Earth and the Cloud. I was not a big fan of the stars on this piece, and I removed all of them except for the shooting star.

I hope from this picture you can see the dimension that the Arctic Rays adds to the piece.

I have also started working on the sun. After changing my mind just over 1,000,000 times, I have finally settled on beading the entire sun. Though the pictures do not do it justice, the sun glitters like gold in the light. However, beading is a VERY slow process for me!

I’m working really hard to finish the piece before I visit my brother on 4/2. We’ll see if I can do it.

Here is what it currently looks like overall:

2 Responses to Cloudy with a chance of…

  1. Chillyhollow says:

    Beading is a very slow process for everyone! At least in my opinion. But you have to do it as those beads are very wiggly varmints.

    Good luck finishing in time. I think this looks great.
    Jane, waving from Chilly Hollow

  2. Micks says:

    Thanks Jane! You’re beading definitely inspired me!

    It was a slow process, but I really enjoyed it

Leave a Reply

