My Very Educated Mother Just Sent Us Nine….

Growing up, there were 9 planets in our Solar System. Now, I think there are just 8. Luckily, I haven’t had to teach this yet in my career.

Hey, speaking of planets…I finished stitching all of the planets on my piece for the baby! I decided to stitch most of them with a satin stitch. I think this looks much nicer than a tent stitch, and may end up pulling the last of the planets left in tent. I have had a lot of fun working with different types of metallics here. I think they add just the right amount of interest to the planets.

I also stitched the moon. When I went to my LNS last weekend with a friend, I picked up some glow-in-the dark thread for the moon. I picked up blending filament and planned on stitching it over the perl cotton, but when I checked the glow effect, I thought it would be a little scary for a small child. In an effort not to scare the baby, I pulled it out. I need to find a way to work this into some piece in the future though!

So, here are my planets.

Overall:

Planet with rings — I’m going to stitch over the rings, then couch them on top after the background is complete

Blue Planet corner

Purple Planet corner

Next steps:

1) Medium Blue Border

2) Navy Blue Background

3) Word Border

4) Clouds

5) Sun***

I changed my mind again about how I want to stitch the sun. I picked up some floss and matching beads. I think this will be a lot more fun to stitch than Flair/Frosty Rays…and beads give that extra sparkle. So, no more french knots. We’ll see if this is still the gameplan when I get around to stitching the sun.

Leave a comment